Independent schools celebrate TES awards success

Representatives from some of the best private schools in the country gathered in London on Friday night for the glittering TES Independent Schools Awards.

Hosted by former Conservative minister Michael Portillo, the night aimed to reward schools for their inspirational and innovative initiatives in a wide variety of areas.

St Joseph’s College in Reading celebrated after receiving the top accolade – Independent School of the Year 2015 – for its “courageous” strategic financial plan to boost investment and reduce fees in order raise pupil numbers.

The judging panel said the scheme was a “trailblazing approach” that others in the sector are beginning to follow.

The British School Jakarta in Indonesia won the award for British International School of the Year for its project to create a “micro school” to provide education to the children of displaced families living in shanty dwellings. Judges said the school showed “a wonderful and compassionate commitment to extending education to others.”

In the field of special needs, The Moat School in London, which specialises in dyslexia, won Special Needs Initiative of the Year for its paired reading scheme, which involved all staff and pupils.

Meanwhile, the Community Initiative of the Year award went to St John’s School, Leatherhead, for holding an annual residential week for special needs children. The youngsters stay in the school’s boarding houses and experience day trips, sports activities, music, drama and creative play.

The TES award ceremony also rewarded partnerships between independent and state schools.

King Edward’s School in Birmingham won the Best Independent- Maintained School Collaboration for its programme improving teaching and learning for pupils in local state junior schools.

Sally Hobbs, headteacher of Orchard House School in London received the Lifetime Achievement Award for her work opening and leading the school for 22 years.

Other winners of the awards included:

– Financial/Commercial Initiative of the Year: St Joseph’s College, Reading

– Strategic Education Initiative of the Year: Ashford School

– Marketing/Communications Campaign of the Year: Bredon School, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire

– Senior Leadership Team of the Year: Kent College, Canterbury

-Governing Body of the Year: Leicester Grammar School

-Fundraising Initiative of the Year: Uppingham School, Rutland

-Boarding Initiative of the Year: Wellington College, Berkshire

Watch all the highlights from the awards here.

FacebookTwitterGoogle+LinkedInGoogle GmailShare