J. O

Name: J. Oprivate home tuition london

Subjects & Levels:

  • English up to degree/university level
  • Biology up to A-Level
  • Maths, Chemistry, Physics, PE, French, Spanish, Drama up to GCSE

University degree: Swansea University, BA (Hons) English Literature 2:1

Locations: Central London Zones 1-4

Enhanced DBS Check: Yes

About me:

I studied English Literature at Swansea University and my dissertation was on Charles Dickens (in particular Great Expectations and Oliver Twist). During my degree, I volunteered to become a literacy mentor for disadvantaged children at a local primary school. I have always had my head in a book, and the thought of helping young children access this passion for reading made the decision to help incredibly easy. During the mentoring, I saw a huge development in the children’s reading skills and this sense of fulfilment made me determined to help other children succeed.

Following my graduation, I began my current position as a teaching assistant at a Primary School in North London. I predominantly work 1:1 with six children in Year 2 who have learning difficulties. In this role, I have learnt how to turn daily lessons into fun and more manageable bursts that suit the needs of each child.

I have a passion to explore every area of teaching and as a result I run an after-school football and athletics club with high achieving KS2 pupils. I thoroughly enjoy working with the older students and it is extremely rewarding to give children the chance to experience a new activity.

What I do when I am not tutoring:

I have played guitar since the age of eleven and it is the root of my passion for music. As a result I write my own music blog (www.thepursuitofsound.wordpress.com) which features new music daily.

I am also a keen runner. I have completed four half marathons and I enjoy fitness/sport on all levels.

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

italySpainfrenchEnglish